CySA+: Maintaining certification

July 30, 2019 by Fakhar Imam


Maintaining your CompTIA Cybersecurity Analysts (CySA+) certification is necessary to keep it active. CySA+ maintenance requirements ensure that you are complying with CompTIA certification policies and that you have up-to-date skills and knowledge required to use and configure threat detection tools, conduct data analysis and interpret results to find threats, risks and vulnerabilities to an organization.

In this article, we will take a closer look into CySA+ renewal requirements, CySA+ retake policy, CompTIA’s Continuing Education (CE) policy and the benefits of maintaining CySA+ certification.

What are the CySA+ renewal requirements?

CompTIA offers a Continuing Education (CE) program to help students keep their credentials valid. A CE program involves various training programs and activities to renew your CompTIA CySA+ certification. A candidate must earn at least 60 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) in three years to renew his account automatically.

What do I need to know about the CySA+ retake policy?

If a candidate fails the first attempt at the CompTIA CySA+ exam, they can apply for the second attempt immediately. CompTIA doesn’t require any waiting period between the first and the second attempt to pass this exam. However, it will not be the case if a candidate fails a third attempt or any subsequent attempt; if this happens, he or she will have to wait 14 calendar days from the date of his or her last attempt to try the CySA+ exam again.

Once you have successfully passed your CySA+ certification, you cannot retake the exam with the same exam code, unless you gain prior permission from CompTIA.

Candidates must adhere to CompTIA retake policy. Repeat violations will subject to a permanent suspension of your CySA+ certification.

What do I need in order to adhere to CompTIA’s Continuing Education policies?

As previously mentioned, CompTIA’s Continuing Education (CE) program help candidates to keep their certification current and ensure longevity in their IT career. However, they must adhere to CE policies to avoid any problems related to a suspension of their CySA+ certification. Below is the list of CompTIA’s CE policies:

  • Candidate Code of Ethics: A candidate must read CompTIA’s terms and conditions prior to participating in the CE program. Any violation, such as submission of fraudulent information, breach of security, misconduct or any incident of cheating will compromise the confidentiality or integrity of CySA+ certification 
  • Audit Policies: In the event of a successful enrollment to the CE program, a student can be audited at any time. To meet audit policy requirements, a candidate must submit all activities for Continuing Education Units (CEUs). In addition, CompTIA will perform a mandatory audit to all high-level industry certifications used for CEUs submission
  • CEU Documentation Retention Policy: The CE program requires candidates to provide documentation for all completed CE activities. CompTIA retains all CEU documentation for four years
  • Audit Decertification Appeals & Process: If invalid CE activities are identified, CompTIA will send a decertification notice to the candidate through email. The candidate has 30 calendar days to appeal and respond to the email

What are the benefits of maintaining my CySA+ certification?

Maintaining your CySA+ credential is necessary to avoid decertification or losing certified professional status. Maintenance also ensures that your skills and knowledge are current with regard to data analysis, configuration and usage of threat detection tools and the protection of systems and applications within an organization.

CySA+ fulfills the ISO-17024 standard and is approved by the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) to meet Directive 8570.01-M requirements. This certification also adheres to government regulations under a Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA). Government and regulators trust ANSI accreditation, since it provides confidence in outputs of the accredited program. Since 2011, CompTIA has delivered over 1.3 million ISO/ANSI accredited exams.

CompTIA CySA+ certification opens the floodgates of new job opportunities in the IT industry in a variety of job positions throughout a range of organizations. The list below shows some job roles demand by employers according to CompTIA:

  • Cybersecurity analyst
  • Security engineer
  • Threat intelligence analyst     
  • Cybersecurity specialist
  • Vulnerability analyst 
  • Security operations center (SOC) analyst
  • IT security analyst      

The CySA+ exam covered behavioral analytics skills, which are highly effective against Advanced Persistent Threats (APTs) and malware to enhance threat visibility across a broad attack surface. In contrast, the traditional signature-based solutions such as firewalls are not very trustworthy in the face of notorious cyberattacks.


After passing the exam, your CySA+ credential is valid for three years. To renew your certification, you need to earn at least 60 CEUs and meet CySA+ maintenance requirements. Maintaining CySA+ credential boosts your career as a cybersecurity analyst and certifies that your knowledge is current in this field. 

Maintenance requirements are also necessary to avoid CySA+ decertification. CompTIA offers CE programs for candidates to participate in a variety of activities to earn the required number of CEUs. Once the CEU requirements are met, the validity period of CySA+ credential is increased for another three years.



  1. CompTIA CySA+ EXAM CODE CS0-001, CompTIA
  2. Continuing Education Policies, CompTIA
Posted: July 30, 2019
Fakhar Imam
View Profile

Fakhar Imam is a professional writer with a master’s program in Masters of Sciences in Information Technology (MIT). To date, he has produced articles on a variety of topics including on Computer Forensics, CISSP, and on various other IT related tasks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.